Fun and Easy Alphabet Activity with Plastic Easter Eggs

The teacher in me just could not put the Easter eggs away without turning them into a fun matching game for my girls. It took me five minutes to prepare by using only a Sharpie and a pile of plastic Easter eggs, and my girls loved it.

I chose to write one upper case and one lower case letter on both the top half and bottom half of each egg. My girls are just learning their lowercase letters, and I was worried that doing only an uppercase and lowercase match might be too difficult. When both types of letters are on both halves, younger kids can match capital letters but will still have the exposure to the lowercase letters. Here are three different ways I turned the A egg to show the options for matching that your kids will have if you write both types of letters on each half of the egg:

All you have to do is turn each half of the egg to show either the upper or lower case letter to change the way your child is matching.

You can also sneak in some color identification (ask for a specific color of egg) and fine motor skill development (through opening and closing the eggs) with this activity. 

After I labeled some eggs (I only did letters A through M to keep the number of eggs from overwhelming my young kids), I took them apart and dumped them on the ground with my girls. I then modeled for them how to choose one egg half, look at its color and letter, find a match and put the two halves together. I put down a basket for them to use to hold the completed eggs.

I plan on making eggs with letters N through Z in a few days, and I hope to pull out both sets occasionally for a quick and easy alphabet practice.

For more toddler alphabet activities, see https://livinginthedeepend.wordpress.com/2013/12/16/five-minute-alphabet-activity-for-toddlers/.

4 thoughts on “Fun and Easy Alphabet Activity with Plastic Easter Eggs

  1. Great idea!! Looks fun.

  2. Great idea! I’m sure you can even expand off this for older children by giving the child a few eggs (letters) and see what words they can make as well!

    • Of course! You could even have a few eggs labeled so they could make words in a family. For example: top egg says “mo,” and they can choose a bottom letter like “p” to make a word like mop. You could do rhyming words on each half, too! Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

