Finally. . .

I have intended to start this blog since the last few weeks of my pregnancy in January.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve mentally blogged in the past months. . .every time something comical or unexpected or just plain crazy happens, I think about how much I’d enjoy blogging about it.  Even though my twin girls are a whopping four and a half months old, today is the first day since they’ve been born when I’ve had the energy and time to sit and finally give it a go.  Granted, my bed isn’t made, there are clean dishes in the dishwasher and a pile of dirty dishes in the sink, I haven’t washed my hair in two days AND my extra room downstairs could literally be featured in the promo to an episode of “Hoarders,” but  I just don’t care today–I am getting this started!!  I set up my account one-handed on my iPad while nursing the girls for the fourth time today if you don’t count our middle of the night feedings (not that I even remember how many of those we had last night!), and I’m praying I’ll have a few minutes while the girls are napping to get my first post written.

Image

 The Munchkins at 3 months. Love those smiles!

When we first found out we were having twins, my OB lovingly told my husband and me:  “Oh boy, you two are jumping into the deep end of the pool for sure!  This is some serious business!”  Dustin and I would politely laugh and then roll our eyes on the way out of the exam room, thinking the OB was just a little off his rocker.  After about three weeks at home with our babies, though, it suddenly clicked.  We were both holding a screaming baby at about 11:30 at night, and all of the family who had come to help us had left.  Neither of us had slept more than an hour and a half at once since the girls were born, and we had only left the house with them for absolutely necessary trips to the pediatrician and one epically disastrous trip to Babies-R-Us.  I remember staring at Dustin and shaking my head as we both walked the floor for the hundredth time with our designated daughter, saying, “Dr. A was right.  We are swimming in the deep end of the pool–this is crazy!”  Dustin nodded back, and we talked about all of the trips and adventures of our friends and family with one baby and how having two really does change everything.  We wouldn’t trade it for the world, though!

Our daughters are nothing less than miraculous!  We went down a long journey of infertility and heartbreak before I found out I was pregnant in June of 2011, and they are truly blessings from God.  My pregnancy was amazingly uneventful, and I carried the girls to 37 and a half weeks and delivered them perfectly healthy and strong at the end of January in 2012. I think I could write a thousand blog posts about infertility, but that’s definitely not for today.

Before my sleeping beauties awake and interrupt my few minutes of precious blogging time, I have to share the humor that was floating in my head for my very first blog idea back at the end of my pregnancy.  Here are the top 10 things no one tells you about being pregnant with twins:

1.  You will never see your ankles nor feet again, including those tiny little delicate bones in your feet.  The swelling and giant belly will change them forever. . .or at least until the fluid from the c-section and pregnancy disappears a month after giving birth).

2.  Everyone else is an expert in the size of a person carrying twins.  I know people were well-meaning, but I can’t tell you how many times I’d hear, “You are too small to be carrying twins!”  I’d just smile and bite my tongue and then tell them how many weeks ahead I’d measured at my last appointment.  I seriously had someone tell me this the day I delivered, and I had 11 pounds of baby on board and was measuring a whopping 46 weeks. . .too small for twins?  You have to be kidding me!!

Image

Me only 2.5 days before the girls were born. I measured 46 weeks (meaning this is how big I’d be expected to be if I were 6 weeks over-due with one baby).

3.  When people declare you are too small, they will sometimes explain themselves in interesting and somewhat insulting ways.  I had a co-worker of my husband’s (who, granted, may have been slightly intoxicated at the time) who told me:  “Wow, you look great.  I mean, I hate to say it, but I thought you’d be huge.  Like, really, really, huge.  Even your face looks great.  I just thought you’d be HUGE!”  So I think she complimented me while also telling me she was expecting me to be Shamu in a Christmas party dress. . .

4.  That weird line on your belly that some of us lucky ones get will keep growing with your belly. . .and growing. . .and growing. . .

5.  The veins on the belly don’t do much to hide the line.  Not that I expected them to work together or anything, but wow. . .nothing says sexy like having a blue road map on your abs.

6.  Wearing flip flops in January in Northern Colorado won’t seem unusual at all, even if there’s snow on the ground.  And a coat?  Who needs it!!

7.  A leaky bladder and your water breaking are two very similar events, so just pray you have a mother close by who can sniff your wet sweat pants and tell the difference.  I wish I could say I was kidding. . .I love you, Mama!

8.  You might remember the last time you barfed with morning sickness (the stupidity of that name could be another LONG blog!) because it happened to be after your anniversary dinner.

9.  You might end up knowing all of the nurses in labor and delivery by name after making FOUR trips to triage. . .

10.  You may have to beg your husband to paint your toenails just once so that you can wear cute sandals to a wedding in Arizona.  If he agrees, be prepared to teach “Toenail Painting 101” to make sure you don’t end up with nails that look like they were finger painted.

And a bonus number eleven. . .forget all of the grand ideas of working out and being that cute little pregnant lady at the gym or running down the street.  Nausea and exhaustion will kick in way before any desire to exercise!

I’ve had a baby in my lap since item number six. . .I love life in the deep end!  What other items would you add to the list of things no one told you about pregnancy?

12 thoughts on “Finally. . .

  1. You will have heartburn like you’ve just eaten 12 chili dogs when in fact you only ate a pb&j! Also, that everyone will say “better you than me.” And guess what? They’re right! We’re super blessed!

  2. Agree 100% with the heartburn after even flavored water! Also agree with saying good bye to my ankles and feet due to swelling! I sincerely wish someone would have told me that you have some of your most absentminded, unable-to-focus, total out of body experiences while pregnant courtesy of ‘pregnancy brain’!!!! Oh and the leaky bladder would have been a nice tip to be prepared for when I was sick and sneezing. 🙂 Love the blog, Melissa! I look forward to your stories!

    • The pregnancy brain stinks! I lost more of my kids’ papers than ever before. The sad thing is, though, that it doesn’t go back to normal afterwards! When you combine it with sleep deprivation that comes with a newborn or two, it’s a brutal!!

  3. You will have the wierdest dreams possible and wonder how in the world that relates to anything you are experiencing at the moment!

  4. I wish I would have known how violently ill I would be! Zofran was my best friend. And when the first trimester passed, after a short interlude of peace, it was back to puking but this time without warning due to a compressed stomach! So Gross. The coffee table, the couch, the floor, all targets. I really do not miss vomiting into my lap while driving.

  5. I am so very excited about your blog!! I have got to get to Greeley and squeeze all of you, especially those babies!! All I can say, Wish you and Manda lived closer to me so I could enjoy more of these adventures.
    We love you, Donice

  6. I was always asked whether or not I can tell who is moving, and oh yeah, I can tell! Oh, and I was asked so often if I had a “natural” twin pregnancy. Is there such a thing as UNNATURAL? And one final thing….I couldn’t grasp how in the world I was going to produce enough milk to feed two babies and how I was going to feed them at the same time. I wish someone would have told me that it
    is TOTALLY doable.

Leave a Reply

