If at first you don’t succeed. . .

Run to King Soopers and pick up the store-bought version of your kitchen disaster!  But hey, what kind of blogger would I be if I simply wrote about my trip to the grocery store?  So, I picked up a candy thermometer on Friday and decided to give this so-called “easy” fudge another try.  Turns out, a candy thermometer really is a crucial piece of any candy-making attempt. . .who knew!

Here’s the recipe from my grandmother’s cookbook:

Maybe it is easier than I originally thought. . .sorry for doubting you, Mama Ann!  I’ll send you an easy-to-read copy if you’d like.

Just four ingredients AND the secret weapon–the candy thermometer.

I had a sweet little girl on my shoulder the whole time.  This time it was Munchkin 2 who decided to help me in the kitchen.

aka, Julia the kitchen helper

Turns out, the time it takes to reach soft ball stage is also the same amount of time it takes a tired baby to fall asleep.

So watching the candy thermometer slowly creep up to the little “soft ball” mark was a little bit like watching the ball drop on New Year’s. . .except the temperature is rising and the ball is falling, and the temperature seems to go a little slower. . .so maybe it’s a terrible comparison, but the anticipation level was the same.  Here is what I saw in the pot when we hit the magic mark and after I stirred in the peanut butter:

A little prettier than “dirt clod” stage. . .

Believe it or not, this fudge actually came out of the pan–no chisel needed!  I found it was easier to spread in my greased, foil pan using a rubber spatula.  I put it in the freezer to cool when it was finished.

Peanut butter fudge.

It tasted great, too.  I feel like there is a Rachel Berry-esque gold star next to my name today.  I guess you’re never too old to learn!

P.S.  An over-night soak took out all of my previous fudge-tastrophe.

4 thoughts on “If at first you don’t succeed. . .

  1. Ashley (Sanders) Rankin

    i’m so glad it worked out for you this time! it looks delish! oh and i love your blogs, they keep me laughin! the girls are precious. hopefully one day we can all hangout!

  2. Jan Fairchild

    I’m glad a little fudge making success made your day complete. You’ll have to make enough for all of us sometime. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

