A Weary Mama’s Prayer

Y’all…

We had one of those days…cutting a two year molar, battling the terrible twos, working on potty training and a to-do list that was just too long to be practical.

It was rough!  Here are my thoughts for tonight to help me keep it all in perspective.  Because in reality, a long day is just a part of a beautiful life that I am thankful to be living.

 

Dear Lord,

You know my heart.  You know my frustrations, and you know the stress I’m feeling today.

*Sigh.*

And Lord, you gave me these babies and knew there was something in me that could handle this.  So whatever that part of me is, please help it to come out of hiding and give me a hand.  Oh, and Lord, thank you for seeing I couldn’t handle triplets!

Give me the wisdom to see the big picture.  Remind me of the parents whose arms are empty tonight, whose hearts are broken and whose lives are empty of sweet little laughs and poopy diapers.  And forgive me for not always remembering how truly, truly blessed I am to have the beautiful family and life that you have given me, tantrums and teething and all.

Help me to find a moment of peace in the chaos to talk to you, to listen to your spirit and to let you refresh and renew me.  And Lord, please, please, please…refresh and renew me as quickly as you can.

And grace.  Lord, let this word sit heavily on my heart.  You have given me immeasurable grace, and I need to return this grace to my family.  Even when the dogs are barking, someone had an accident on the couch, the phone starts ringing and the laundry I folded for the third time is all over the floor, help me to have grace with my babies (and not to curl up in a ball in the corner and cover my ears).

Help me to have a sweet smile for the little one who asked with a “please, mama,” for PBJ number 16 of the day even if I think I might explode on the inside.  And help me not to kick the dog who probably ate all or part of the other 15 PBJs.  Grace, grace, grace, right, Lord?

And when I make too long of a to-do list, forgive me and teach me to let things go.  Dirty dishes and laundry can wait when a little one who is rubbing her eyes and hanging on my leg needs her mama.  Because when kids act the worst is probably when they need me the most, right, Lord?  Remind me a clean house is never more important than loved children.  (But if you have an extra angel who does housework, keep me in mind).

Give me the wisdom to know when to give myself a break and to ask for help.  Teach me to give grace to myself, too.  And for the mamas who can’t take a break today or don’t have someone to call for help, give them an extra measure of your strength and patience; remind me of how fortunate I am to have a support system in place.

And speaking of patience…I need about a thousand times more to get through days like today.  Some laughter might be nice, too.  Lord, help me to find the joy in my home and in my children that will carry me through these challenging days, weeks and years of raising these precious little ones you’ve decided to entrust to me.

Thank you for this beautiful life and my healthy children.  Oh, and for Motrin, Dora and blogging.

In Jesus Name,

Amen.

8 thoughts on “A Weary Mama’s Prayer

  1. Loved this! I know, you know, you’re not the only one because even I have many many many many prayers like this. 🙂

  2. Weary is such a perfect word to describe your feelings. Your post is an honest and real glimpse into your day. The weary days will become less often as the kids get older, so hang in there and continue to lean on the Lord – – through Him we can do amazing things! I laughed when I read your comment about triplets – – I often thought the same thing when my twins were little!! I hope tomorrow is a better day for you 🙂

    • Thank you so much! You know exactly what those days feel like…and I’m sure many triplet mamas feel the same! Ha! And you’re right–we’ve had less weary days than we did a year ago for sure, so I can only imagine it will continue to lessen. Maybe that’s God’s way of rewarding us for hanging in there. 🙂

  3. This. Was. Fantastic. And please know you are not alone. I thank you for this, my friend, as I come to the realization I need to go back to work so I can appreciate my sweet girl and all her toddler ways. I have struggled with huge mama guilt and your post helped me know I am not alone. Tomorrow is another day and, yes, thank you for laughter, blogging, and good friends. 🙂

    • You are so welcome–thank you for reading and commenting. 🙂 And you’re right–none of us are alone even if it feels that way sometimes. No mama guilt for taking care of yourself and being the best you can be for your little one! Always good to hear from you!!

  4. Love, love, love this and LOVE you and my precious grandgirls!! Had to get out the kleenex when I read this…wish we lived closer!! You and Dustin are amazing parents and I am so proud of you!

  5. […] than the cheerful moments? I know I am WAY more likely to fall on my knees in prayer and write a heart-felt blog post when I’m weary, but I know our God wants to hear from us often, not just when our hearts are aching for His […]

Leave a Reply

